Since the 20th November 2016, I took some time off from social media the length of this little break of mine is 30 days exactly.

What inspired this break? Well, it’s easy for me really my mental health was starting to take a toll from constantly being online.

good-for-the-soul.jpg

I mean think about it…

How many hours do you waste from aimlessly scrolling through your timeline seeing all your friends, family and ex-classmates doing so well? Then there’s you, the chronically ill person who barely has the energy to get in the shower some days, who needs at least 2 weeks notice for plans. Not to mention that little bit of jealousy I felt whenever I saw pictures of my friends enjoying Summer while I can’t go in the sun because of my illness, or when they posed in their bikini’s with their flawless skin yet whenever I look down I see the scars my eczema has left behind.

So I decided to take a break, I couldn’t go on like that. I was driving myself nuts I’m sure, making myself feel like a failure because I wasn’t on the same path like my peers. But that’s the thing, though, everyone has their own pace, there shouldn’t be a time allocated to becoming ‘successful‘.

Now that my break is has come to an end I can honestly say I’m feeling much better mental health wise. So if you’re feeling overwhelmed and find yourself doing exactly what I did. I suggest you take a break, put things into perspective. Give yourself some love, remind yourself that unlike your peers you are fighting some chronic illness so you don’t have to be on the same wavelength as them.

My break is officially over but I’m not rushing to log on to my social media accounts, as a matter of fact, I’m thinking of extending my break.

Until next time 🙂

#RareWithAChance

Leave a Reply

